Oscars…as it happens…

Filed under: Entertainment,Leisure |

Well…as I write,  the Oscar’s have been predictable…

The Oscar for sound editing went to Paul N.J. Ottosson for “The Hurt Locker.” Ottosson had barely left the stage when he was called back to receive the sound mixing award for the war drama with Ray Beckett. “The Hurt Locker” has won the most statuettes, with three.

Another movie performing well: “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire.” Mo’Nique, considered the shoo-in for an Oscar for supporting actress as the vile, abusive mother of a pregnant teen in the harrowing drama took home the honor as expected. The comic talk-show host, who opted out of doing extensive campaigning this awards season, thanked the academy and said it proves that a win “can be about the performance and not the politics.” Mmmmmm…was she getting all political there?

Moments earlier, an emotional Geoffrey Fletcher won for adapted screenplay for “Precious.” Holding back the tears, Fletcher said: “I don’t know what to say. This is for everybody who works on a dream every day.” His win was a surprise: Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner were the favorites for “Up in the Air.”

Until that moment, the 82nd annual Academy Awards felt like it was all going according to the odds makers.

The trophy for original song went to Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett for “The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart).” The award for animated feature film went to “Up,” which is also nominated for best film. And as expected, Austrian actor Christoph Waltz danced away with supporting actor for playing a brutal Nazi Jew hunter in “Inglourious Basterds.” All three have dominated this awards season, winning practically every available honor.

Mark Boal won original screenplay for the war drama “The Hurt Locker.” It was followed by a tribute to the late, great teen-angst writer-director John Hughes, who died unexpectedly last year. Several of the Hughes veterans gathered on stage in his memory, including Ally Sheedy, Molly Ringwald, Matthew Broderick and Judd Nelson.

Awards in the short-film categories were “Logorama” for animated, “Music by Prudence” for documentary and “The New Tenants” for live action. The honor for costume design went to Sandy Powell for “The Young Victoria.” Art direction went to Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg and set decorator Kim Sinclair for “Avatar,” which also won a cinematography trophy for Mauro Fiore.

Ben Stiller, decked out in “Avatar” Navi blue, complete with tail and braid, presented the best makeup award to “Star Trek.”

The show kicked off with Neil Patrick Harris, who got rave reviews for hosting the Tonys and the Emmys last year, performing a musical number — “No One Wants to Do It Alone.” It was a reference to the hosts of the show, the wild and crazy Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin, or, as Harris called them, “the biggest pair since Dolly Parton.”

And with that, the hosts came down from the heavens at the Kodak Theatre, holding hands.

vodafone tl yükleme kontör yükleme hamile giyim turkcell fatura alanya escort işbankası kredi kartı borç sorgulama elektrik faturası ödeme turkcell tl yükleme tl yükleme hgs yükleme pvp serverler site ekle r57 shell indir antalya escort yapı kredi borç sorgulama finansbank borç sorgulama akbank borç sorgulama ogs yükleme enerjisa fatura ödeme clk akdeniz fatura ödeme